The Seventh International Conference on

Information and Management Sciences

August 12-18, 2008, Urumchi, China

The Seventh International Conference on Information and Management Sciences (IMS2008), which is the annual conference for the International Association for Information and Management Sciences, will be held in Urumchi, the capital of Sinkiang, China. Urumchi means in Mongolian "fine pasture". There are numerous scenic spots and historical attractions, among which Tianshan Mountain, Kanas Lake, Taklimakan Desert, Silk Road are the most famous. The goals of the conference are to enhance the global competitiveness of the business enterprises through the application of information and management sciences, and to foster the international collaborations between Asian scholars and scholars from North America, Europe and other parts of the world.  Research discussions among participants will also be held during the tour.  


The program committee and organizing committee of IMS2008 cordially invite you to submit your paper to this conference.  All papers related to theoretical developments and applications of information and management sciences are welcome.  Relevant topics include, but not limited to:


Consumer Behavior

Customer Relationship Management

Data Warehousing and Data Mining

Decision Models and Applications

Decision Support Systems

Enterprise Systems and Applications

Economic Reform and Development of China

Financial and Managerial Accounting

Finance/Financial Management

Fuzzy Set/Random Set/Rough Set

Fuzzy Variable/Random Fuzzy Variable/Hybrid Variable

Genetic Algorithms/Neural Networks/Soft Computing

Human Resource Management

Information Systems/Technology Management

Internet & E-Business

Knowledge Management

Logistic/Supply Chain Management

Managerial Economics

Marketing Theory and its Applications

Operations Strategy/Management

Optimization and its Applications

Organizational Theory

Quality Management

Service Operations Management

Statistics and Decision Analysis

Stochastic Programming/Fuzzy Programming/Uncertain Programming

Uncertainty Theory/Credibility Theory/Chance Theory


All abstracts and final papers will be published in the proceedings (ISTP indexed) before the conference. Two best paper awards for students and two best paper awards for faculty members will be presented during the conference. High quality papers will also be selected for publication in international journals.



International Association for Information and Management Sciences (IMS)

Waseda University, Japan

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Tsinghua University, China

KAIST, Korea



Mitsuo Gen, Waseda  University, Japan


Program Area Chairs

Wlodzislaw Duch, Nicolaus Copernicus University Torun, Poland

Yankui Liu, Hebei University, China


Organizing Committee Chairs

Kang Yen, Florida International University, USA

Jeff Yeung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong



Hung T. Nguyen, New Mexico State University, USA

Xiande Zhao, The Chinese University of Hong Kong


Local Arrangements Chair

Guorui Miao, Xi’An Investment Company, China


Publication Chair

Jinwu Gao, Renmin University of China


Publicity Chair

Xiaoyu Ji, Renmin University of China


International Program Committee

Amaury A. Caballero, Florida International University, USA

Tung-Shou Chen, National Taichung Institute of Technology

Wai Man Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Russell Ching, California State University, USA

Tommy Lee Coleman, Alabama A&M University, USA

Hepu Deng, RMIT University, Australia

Fangyan Dong, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Augustine O. Esogbue, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Shu-Cherng Fang, North Carolina State University, USA

Chek Teck  Foo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Renkuan Guo, University of cape Town, South Africa

Kaoru Hirota, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Heung Suk Hwang, Dongmyung University, Korea

Chih-Cheng Hung, Southern Polytechnic State University, USA

Tak Kee Hui, National University of Singapore

Hark Hwang, KAIST, Korea

Kakuzo Iwamura, Josai University, Japan

Radim Jirousek, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech

Hiroshi Katayama, Waseda University, Japan

PohWah Khong, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Wonkyung Kim, Kyungnam University, Korea

Vincent Lai, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Kokin Lam, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Ronald Lau, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Claude Langrand, University of Sciences and Technology of Lille, France

Kwang Hyung Lee, KAIST, Korea

E. Stanley Lee, Kansas State University, USA

T.S. Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Eldon Y. Li, Cal Poly State University, USA

Chengji Liang, Shanghai Maritime University, China

Baoding Liu, Tsinghua University, China

Linzhong Liu, Lanzhou Jiao-Tong University, China

Zhi-Qiang Liu, City University of Hong Kong

M.K. Luhandjula, University of South Africa

Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier, University of Paris 6, France

Henry Mok, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Takashi Oyabu, Kanazawa Seiryo University, Japan

Jin Peng, Huanggang Normal University, China

Pavel Pudil, Prague University of Economics, Czech

Romano Scozzafava, University of La Sapienza, Italy

Francois  L.S. Soh, Yuan Ze University

Hsiao-Fan Wang, National Tsing Hua University

Jerry C. Wei, University of Notre Dame, USA

Yuanguo Zhu, Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China


Conference Secretary   

Ms. Xin Gao

Uncertainty Theory Laboratory

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Tsinghua University, Beijing 100084, China



Instructions for Submission 

Papers or abstracts will be accepted in electronic format. Please send electronic submissions to Ms. Xin Gao at All submissions will be acknowledged within 10 days. If you do not receive acknowledgment of your submission, please contact the conference secretary. 


Registration Fee

Registration fee includes a copy of the conference proceedings, conference banquets, all meals and social programs.  Early registration fee before June 1, 2008 is US$480.


Important dates

Contributed Papers or Proposals: April 1, 2008

Notification of Acceptance: May 1, 2008

Final Manuscripts Due: June 1, 2008

Early Registration: June 1, 2008